Skip to content

Techniques

Botanical Prints - Ecoprint

Developed by India Flint, the botanical printing technique or ecoprint allows to reveal the magic of plants by capturing their imprint.

The marks left by plants on paper or different fabrics with the help of water, heat and different metals offer an infinite variety of colours and shapes, leaving plenty of room for improvisation and discovery.

Directly linked to nature, this technique offers infinite possibilities in a magical universe full of surprises, colours and scents, and can be combined with other techniques such as shibori, rust and so many other textile explorations.

 
 
samples - natural dyes - natural dyeing

Natural dyes

The materials previously washed and then mordanised (preparation of the fabric allowing the pigments to "stick" to the material) are immersed in baths of plants, flowers or bark that have released their colour by cooking or maceration.

Dyeing can be done either hot or cold, with techniques varying according to the plant and the material to be dyed. Garden plants, field flowers or wild shrubs, many have dyeing power.

Les techniques

Impressions Botaniques - Ecoprint

Développée par India Flint, la technique d’impressions botaniques ou ecoprint permet de révéler la magie des plantes en capturant leur empreinte.

Les marques laissées par les végétaux sur le papier ou les différents tissus à l’aide d’eau, de chaleur et de différents métaux offrent une infinie variété de couleurs et de formes, laissant une très grande place à l’improvisation et la découverte.

En lien direct avec la nature, cette technique offre des possibilités infinies dans un univers magique plein de surprises, de couleurs et de parfums, et peut se combiner avec d’autres techniques comme le shibori, la rouille et tant d’autres explorations textiles.

 
 
echantillons - teintures naturelles - natural dyeing

Teintures naturelles

Les matières préalablement lavées puis mordancées (préparation du tissu permettant “l’accroche” des pigments sur la matière) sont plonges dans des bains de plantes, fleurs ou écorces ayant libéré leur couleur par cuisson ou macération.

Les teintures peuvent se pratiquer a chaud ou a froid, les techniques variant selon la plante et les matières a teindre. Plantes de jardins, fleurs des champs ou arbustes sauvages, beaucoup ont un pouvoir tinctorial.